Close this search box.
Home » Collaboration Album Release Recorded at Leon Russell’s Paradise Studios

Collaboration Album Release Recorded at Leon Russell’s Paradise Studios

Horton Records in Tulsa, Oklahoma, announces the release of Back to Paradise:  A Tulsa Tribute to Okie Music on August 28. In February 2020, a group of notable Tulsa musicians traveled to Leon Russell’s famed Paradise Studio at Grand Lake in Oklahoma to record the first album tracked there since 1978.

Some of the biggest names in the industry recorded at Paradise Studio; Leon Russell, Bob Seger, and Freddie King, while even more musicians and creatives escaped to fellowship at this Okie oasis. Tulsan Rick Huskey spent the last 30 years preserving and restoring the space, honoring its history while preparing for a new chapter.

Seventeen tracks written by Tulsa’s finest were recorded over the course of four days – mostly live, with very few overdubs – and produced by Jason Weinheimer & Them Tulsa Boys. A total of 20 Tulsa musicians participated in the recording and the core band consisted of Paul Benjaman, Jesse Aycock, Grammy nominee John Fullbright, Paddy Ryan, and Aaron Boehler.

The musicians who participated in the project chose the songs for the album. The tracks that will be singles and made into videos are; “I’ll Make Love To You Anytime” (J.J. Cale), “If The Shoe Fits” (Leon Russell), “I Yike It” (The Gap Band), “Rock n Roll Gypsies” (Jesse Ed Davis)”.

Get a sneak peek with interviews and music videos on YouTube.

Pre-order the album today on Bandcamp.

For more information, visit

Latest News